Membership Selection Requirements & Induction Ceremony

The National FL Societies set forth their requirements for membership: a 90 or better in the induction year, an overall GPA of 80 or better and the promise of service to others in the form of tutoring.

All members must sign the Pelham Memorial HS Student Agreement for Participation in Athletics & Co-Curricular Activities.

Students become eligible to be inducted in levels IV and/or V based on the average of their first two quarter grades.

Our first induction was in 2007.


General Information on Societies

Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

Sponsored by: The American Association of Teachers of Spanish & Portuguese.

The AATSP was formally organized in 1953 as the Spanish National Honor Society. Its purpose is to recognize high student achievement in Spanish and Portuguese and to promote a continuity of interest in Hispanic Studies.

Société Honoraire de Français

Sponsored by: The American Association of Teachers of French

The AATF was founded in 1927 to serve French teachers at all levels, from elementary school to graduate school. The organization helps promote the study of French and the cultures of French speaking countries.

Società Onoraria Italica

Sponsored by : The American Association of Teachers of Italian

The purpose of this organization is to stimulate interest in the study of Italian, to give recognition to scholarship achievement in Italian and to promote an understanding and appreciation of Italian culture and civilization.

The Pelham Memorial High School Latin Honor Society

Sponsored by: The National Junior Classical League

Formed in 1936, the National Junior Classical League (NJCL) is an organization of junior and senior high school students sponsored by the American Classical League.  Composed of Local and state/provincial chapters across the United States, Canada and Australia, it is the largest Classical organization in the world today with over 50,000 members.  Its purpose is to encourage an interest in and an appreciation of the language, literature and culture of ancient Greece and Rome and to impart an understanding of the debt of our own culture to that of Classical antiquity.  




On Thursday, March 30th, the World Language Department held
its eleventh Honor Society Induction.  Congratulations to our
wonderful inductees, their parents and teachers.  A total
of 96 outstanding students were inducted during this
joyous event!


The following students deserve special congratulations
on having been inducted in two language national honor
societies by having achieved a 90% average or better
in the upper levels:

Thomas Horowitz

Catherine Maschio

Viviana Samudio

Kathleen McLaughlin

Katherine Pompilio

Mateo Rivera


 The following students have been inducted as 9th graders. 

 Emilia Privat

Pamela Pennetta

Kimberly Perez

Steven Torres

Miriam Ciacca




The Pelham Memorial High School Chapter of the Société Honoraire de Français


Eleanor Baxter

Theodora Caminiti

Casey DeJesus

Jane Ely

Claire Gilman

Saul Glist

Noah Hellum

Thomas Horowitz

Henry Johnson

Charlotte Krause

Audrey Lee

John Little

Julian Navarro

Isabella Saljanin

William Shelton

Patrick Shiels

Halle Tirsch

Priya Varanasi

Emily Xue

Abigail Young






The Vittorio Emanuele Chapter of the Società Onoraria Italica


Owen Anastas

Lorenzo Bertuccioli

Kaitlyn Czajka

Kylie Galiani

Madison Hartigan

Olivia Imperato

Lorena Maggiore

John Prignano

Lang Sorice

Miriam Ciacca

George Dunhill

Brian Leichtman

Eli Mac Coll

Catherine Maschio

Henry Morjikian

Viviana Samudio

Ryan Shea

Christopher Tolan

Nicolo Abou-Taleb





The Latin National Junior Classical Leauge Honor Society


Nicklas Breskin

Cameron Catana

Quinlan Crowley

Benjamin Huang

Kiera Mallinson 

Hannah McFarland

Kathleen McLaughlin

William Taubner

Braden Tolan






The Federico Garcia Lorca Chapter of the Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica


Melissa Altschiller

Julianne Argento

Iasmim Basso

Mason Brady

William Case

Janet Collens

Sarah Cullen

Priscilla DeFerrari

Matias Facciuto

Caroline Franks

Anna Giddins

Michael Goldman

Julia Golfo

Daphne Gutch

Lauren Hade

Ilse Heredia

Georgia Howard

Megan Leichtman

Anais Leon-Kelly

Jonathan Liesman

Justin Limardo

Valerie Marinez-Sanchez

Margaret Mc Carroll

Nicholas Milanese

Ashley Montiel

Harold Neu

Isabel Orfanoudakis

Pamela Pennetta

Eva Perez

Kimberly Perez

Alexis Peters

Katherine Pompilio

Angelie Prima

Emilia Privat

Mateo Rivera

Patrick Roche

Angelina Rosa

Nathan Rosenberg

Wyatt Saunders

Christiana Silva

Paola Silva

Katherine Soifer

Timothy Solimine

Steven Torres

Melissa Vasami

Andrew Vermes

Nicholas Wessman

Gavin Woods